Star Wars The Force Awakens Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by John Williams- album review

"Star Wars The Force Awakens Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" by John Williams.
“Star Wars The Force Awakens Original Motion Picture Soundtrack” by John Williams.
I have loved Star Wars music since the first film came out, so I was very excited when I heard John Williams was continuing the tradition by doing the music for the Star Wars The Force Awakens Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. He is rightly praised for his work on this series, and this soundtrack is no exception.

My favorite piece is “Rey’s Theme” which is used at strategic places throughout the film. It has a delicate, feathery quality to it at the beginning, as if pointing out the hidden potential and vulnerability of its character. As the piece progresses, it has moments of great strength separated by wistful and hopeful segments.

Coupled with “The Scavenger”, the piece playing when we first meet Rey, this is just as strong a piece as “Binary Sunset” was in Star Wars because it sets the tone for the whole film. When I heard this music, I was immediately filled with hope, and I knew I was going to enjoy the film.

I love how parts of the themes from the original three films are seamlessly incorporated into the various pieces in Star Wars The Force Awakens Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. This is one of the reasons I like this soundtrack so much: because it really feels like it belongs in the series. I enjoy the soundtracks for the prequels, but they don’t invoke this feeling of belonging as much as this one does. This is one reason why this film works so well: the soundtrack really pulls you into it.

“The Starkiller” evokes a sense of despairing wonder, really showing the deadly beauty of this amazing weapon. This is not a long theme, but it has a huge impact, playing while Starkiller Base destroys several of the internal planets of the new Republic. This theme of deadly despair is repeated in “Torn Apart”.

The measures played whenever Kylo Ren makes an appearance really convey the raw power he wields. The music gives a sense of great strength, but no finesse, which is exactly how Kylo Ren is in the film. He very much storms into a scene and makes sure you know he’s there. It also shows the great conflict within him. This theme is most noticeable in the latter half of the “Main Title and the Attack on the Jakku Village”, as well as in “Kylo Ren Arrives at the Battle”, “The Abduction”, and “Torn Apart”.

I could spend hours talking about the Star Wars The Force Awakens Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. Needless to say, John Williams has not lost his touch. This soundtrack is perfect background music, inspiring but not intruding. I never get tired of listening to it, and I look forward to as many more Star Wars scores as he has left in him. I hope it’s at least through the 9th main film.

Track Listing:

1. “Main Title and the Attack on the Jakku Village”
2. “The Scavenger”
3. “I Can Fly Anything”
4. “Rey Meets BB-8”
5. “Follow Me”
6. “Rey’s Theme”
7. “The Falcon”
8. “That Girl with the Staff”
9. “The Rathtars!”
10. “Finn’s Confession”
11. “Maz’s Counsel”
12. “The Starkiller”
13. “Kylo Ren Arrives at the Battle”
14. “The Abduction”
15. “Han and Leia”
16. “March of the Resistance”
17. “Snoke”
18. “On the Inside”
19. “Torn Apart”
20. “The Ways of the Force”
21. “Scherzo for X-Wings”
22. “Farewell and the Trip”
23. “The Jedi Steps and Finale”

Release Date: December 18, 2015 (USA)
MySF Rating: Five point zero stars
Family Friendliness: 100%


Language: 0

Tell us what you think!